Praise & Recognition

"A touching debut novel … van Dam artfully explores the strength of familial ties and what defines a home."

— Booklist

Come November is the kind of novel that stays with you long after you finish. I was really rooting for the lovable Rooney and her brother on this complex and fascinating journey. The story is both universal and incredibly specific in its questioning of how one navigates the flaws in parents, friends, the planet, and oneself and still finds the courage to be happy. A gripping, well-crafted, and beautiful read!

Veera HiranandaniAuthor of A New York Times Editor's Choice Pick The Night Diary and The Whole Story of Half a Girl

Thought-provoking, moving and very insightful, Come November is the compelling story of a girl on the brink of adulthood struggling to survive a harrowing, all-too-grown-up present, while bravely laying claim to a brighter future and making peace with the complexities of her family's troubling past.

Kimberly McCreightNew York Times bestselling author of Reconstructing Amelia and The Outliers Trilogy.

In the tradition of Cynthia Voigt’s Homecoming and Margaret Peterson Haddix’s Don’t You Dare Read This, Mrs. Dunphrey, Rooney is a teen thrust too early into adulthood. The stress she experiences is palpable as she single-mindedly strives to care for Daniel, the one person she allows herself to love... With an engaging plot premise, a strong, flawed heroine and a touch of romance, this book will fly off the shelf.

School Library Journal (starred review)

In her weighty debut, van Dam weaves an emotionally charged tale of betrayal, broken familial bonds, and redemption... A strong portrait of family dynamics.

Kirkus Reviews

In this YA debut, van Dam offers a family-centered story that takes on faith, doubt, sibling bonds, and mental illness...The ticking clock (three months until departure) and Mom’s behavior as she preps to be taken up by aliens build tension and momentum, and van Dam’s portrait of Rooney, who has to act as a parent, is poignant, layered, and heroic. As November approaches and the reality of the family’s dire circumstances sets in, Rooney must find a way to pull her mother, brother, and herself through in this emotional story.

Publishers Weekly